Genger’s Notes- 4/15/17
IGA Championships just around the corner:
Entries are open for all IGA Championships. Use this link to enter online or print a paper entry and send it to the IGA office.
The early championships include:
IGA Match Play @ TimberStone
Player places towel over his head before making a stroke from under a tree.
A player is playing on a rainy day, his ball comes to rest under a tree. To protect himself from rain water dripping from the tree branches, he places a towel over his head before taking his stance and making the stroke. What is the ruling?
Provided the player takes his stance fairly and does not bend or break a branch that improves his lie, stance or area of swing (breach of Rule 13-2), there is no breach of the Rules. However, if the player were to place a towel on the tree branch to protect himself, he would be in breach of Rule 1-2 for altering physical conditions with the intent of affecting the playing of the hole; as a result, he would lose the hole in match play or incur a penalty of two strokes in stroke play. See Decision 1-2/10.
Tags: Championships, Four-Ball, Match Play, Rules of Golf