[Viewing mobile site] View desktop site
IGA Logo

Team Idaho Rallies in Singles to take Third at 2018 PNGA Cup

May 4, 2018

SEATTLE – Team Idaho entered the final day of the 2018 PNGA Cup with a less than inspiring first day performance after winning only two of its twelve matches in Thursday’s Four-Ball and Foursomes matches finding itself in fourth position in the annual PNGA Cup Matches (Idaho, Oregon, Washington, British Columbia) at the fabulous Seattle Golf Club in Seattle, WA.

Trailing leaders Oregon by a substantial margin, Team Idaho Captain and current IGA Vice President Russ Peterson spoke to his team Friday morning before the 12 singles matches and reminded them of what Idaho had accomplished just a year earlier when competing on its home turf at TimberStone Golf Course. In 2017 Team Idaho had captured the PNGA Cup for the first time in its then 12 year history. Peterson instilled a sense of pride in the team and something must have stuck. Idaho came out red hot Friday morning and at one point lead in 11 of its 12 matches. The team would cool off a bit as the day wound down, but would capture an astonishing 8 of 12 possible matches to take home third place, ahead of Washington and trailing British Columbia by a small margin. Oregon would go on to win the event for a record seventh time in its 13 year history. 

“I know we all played just as hard Thursday as we did Friday, but to see Team Idaho step up and win more points on the course than any of the other teams on Friday was awe inspiring” stated Peterson. 

For complete scores and results, Click Here.

For a list of team rosters, Click Here. 

To build their teams each year, each association selects a 12-person team consisting of eight men and four women. The representation includes four mid-amateur men of 25 years of age or older, two men of 40 years or older, two senior men of 55 years or older, two mid-amateur women of 25 years or older and two senior women of 50 years or older.

The PNGA Cup was created in 2006 by past PNGA President Dr. Jack Lamey as a way of continuing the friendship and partnership of the region’s allied associations under the PNGA umbrella. The annual competition is held on a rotating basis throughout the region, with this year’s event being held in Washington and hosted by the Washington State Golf Association. The inaugural PNGA Cup, conducted in 2006, was held at Seattle Golf Club, and returned this year for the first time to the historic venue.

Founded in 1900, Seattle Golf Club has hosted numerous regional and national championships, including the 1952 U.S. Amateur, 1981 U.S. Senior Amateur, Pacific Coast Amateur (1967, 1987, 1999, 2016) and the 2009 Pac-10 Men’s Championship.


Share this post!



    • PGA Rocky Mountain Section
    • GHIN
    • USGA
    • First Tee
    • PNGA